I really do know everything I need to know to lose at least forty pounds. I have lost forty pounds more than a few times. If they’d stayed lost, my weight would be in a healthy range. But they didn’t. They came back (and then some). I’m not sure I know what I need to know in order to maintain the weight loss but that’s a different story.

Or is it?

But, let’s focus on the positive. Let’s see what I do know, for sure, about health and weight loss.

  1. No one specific diet is best for all. No, wait.
  2. There is only one best diet for all –a diet with whole, natural foods– after that, it really doesn’t matter all that much.
  3. You have to eat fewer calories than you burn to lose weight –no matter what you eat.
  4. Too much sugar –even in a homemade fruit smoothie– stresses the body.
  5. Too much fat –in the diet of someone without a gallbladder– is just nasty.
  6. Exercise alone will not shed the pounds.
  7. Exercise is essential for good health and weight maintenance.
  8. If you want to minimize muscle loss, lift weights.
  9. Lack of sleep, stress and salt all contribute to a lack of weight loss
  10. Adipose tissue sets up an inflammatory environment which through the manipulation of hormones maintains the body in a fatty, inflammatory state.(Yes, obesity is both a cause –and a result– of inflammation.) (1)

Also, I  know this: any weight I lose has to be gone forever, otherwise, what’s the point? I truly believe this excess weight is not good for me.

I really hate to post this picture: but I have to. I can’t hide, forever. The first of every month. A picture and my measurements. This is where I’m at:

SONY DSC
Sept 1, 2016

weight: 268.6 lbs

waist: 50″

hips: 58″

I feel like I really have no idea what I am doing.

