SONY DSC

I don’t believe in diets or meal plans. I don’t want to count calories or track my macros (though I’ve become curious recently bout just what I am consuming, so never say never).

I like food. I like to eat well. I do not like feeling deprived. I let myself eat whatever I like–if I’m OK with the consequences. My goals are to be healthy and strong and slimmer than I am right now. My ultimate goal is to be inflammatory free. We’ve been over this before.

I woke up late on this particular morning–after 10 plus hours of sleep. Oh, it felt so good to just wake up and decide to get out of bed because I wanted to! That’s so rare. What a luxury.

I decided to make myself a smoothie along with my coffee.

  • 1 cup green tea
  • 2 cups spinach
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 4″ slice of cucumber
  • 1 cup of frozen mango
  • 1 scoop (30g) whey protein powder.

I wanted to do my grocery shopping, but I procrastinated, so I wound up being much too hungry while I shopped. I had a Larbar in the check out lane.

SONY DSC

Once I got home, I cooked up some lean ground beef and chopped veggies for a long time until I’d made supper:

SONY DSC

Shepard’s Pie from Nutritional Weight and Wellness. Oh, it was wonderful! (I forgot to buy the cauliflower, though, and had just a straight up all-potato topping.) I meant to have  salad with it, but I was in a rush. I worked 5 to 9.

I didn’t feel all that hungry when my coffee break came around, but I decided to eat my snack anyway: an apple and a few cashews.

SONY DSC

After work, I treated myself to two cookies.

SONY DSC

I was on the prowl soon after, though, so I parceled out a few grapes. They didn’t satisfy me either, so I left them and had another good sized helping of the Shepard’s pie.

SONY DSC

That did it.

Unfortunately, I don’t experience being actually hungry until my stomach growls and I feel very hollow and slightly faint. Is that normal? It is quite unpleasant.

Other less severe “symptoms” of being hungry for me is just food-seeking behaviour. I notice that I am looking for food or thinking about it or wanting it. When I notice that, I tell my husband I’m feeling “peckish.” So far, though, I don’t notice any internal bodily sensations associated with it. I think I should feel something physical, though, shouldn’t I?

SONY DSC

I finished up the grapes and had a cup of tea while watching Netflix. Then I meditated and went to bed.

 

