SONY DSC

Darya Rose of Summer Tomato is running a free five day course on mindful eating. There’s only one rule: concentrate on what you are eating and nothing else.

Sounds simple.

Of course it isn’t.

I had breakfast about an hour after I woke up. Veggies sauteed in coconut oil,  two eggs with a sprinkle of cheese. On the side, I had 1/2 a toasted, buttered bagel and hot coffee.

It took me 17 minutes. As I was sitting down, my son decided to take out the garbage (yay!) and make himself a hot chocolate (boo). That was a lot of banging around. I got madder and madder as I closed my eyes and tried to concentrate on taste and texture. My mind kept wandering to “I can’t even get a quiet meal by myself.” and “This is watery and blah.” and “It must be the mushrooms and zucchini” and “Oh my god, it’s like there’s an elephant here in the kitchen with me.” I even broke my rule of silence to yell, “Ben, you’re kettle’s ready.” Which I hate doing even when I am not involved in trying a mindful meditation.

I decided to get some salsa, my son made his hot chocolate and cleared out and everything became much more enjoyable. But I also thought about how mindlessness has probably served us very well throughout our evolution. I am reading Alfred Lansing’s Endurance, Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage, where the men sleep on slushy ice floes and try to gut the seals they kill while they’re still warm so their hands don’t get frostbitten.

If we hadn’t ignored the rather unpleasant aspects of our existence, –and most of our existence has been very unpleasant, historically speaking, I doubt we would have survived.

But my heavens, it is now about 40 minutes after I’ve had that meal. The satiety signals have had more than enough time to signal my brain.

And I am satisfied and full. Quite full, actually. Almost uncomfortably full.

