dsc07823
I think this blogger could teach me how to ride a bike!

The first Introductory workshop at Precision Nutitrition poses four questions for me to answer. They are:

  1. What is it I really want to achieve in going through P.N. Coaching? Answer here.
  2. Why haven’t you achieved your goals already? What’s blocking you? First Attempt at an answer here.
  3. What awesome things might happen to you if you did make progress?
  4. What specific things will show you you’re on track?

 

I want to take another quick stab at answering the second question. It has been bothering me a lot.

I still think the crux of the answer is, as Tony Robbins tells it, wrapped up in my self-identity. But that’s still a pretty big suitcase to unpack.

Lately, I came across this article by Nerd Fitness which was also thought provoking.

So, let’s start with the basics: the “these are just excuses and I know it but I still say them to myself” bullsh*t: But until I drag out these thoughts into the light of day, I can’t deal with them. So, here we are.

There are many activities I enjoy, but I don’t do them for one reason or another.

cycling–no bicycle, and man, does that seat hurt! I promise myself I will get a nice bike with a good seat when I am under 200 pounds. Then, I can bike to work.

swimming and water aerobics–I don’t have a bathing suit that fits, don’t want to spend money on a suit anyway, don’t have time to attend classes, don’t have the money.

any class at a fitness facility–I don’t have the money (even though my work place will cover off 20% of any pass I purchase at a city facility).

walking–it’s too cold. It’s too hot. It’s boring.

hiking–I’d have to drive to a good trail…and what’s the point of that? Besides, I don’t have time.

skiing (downhill) I’m too old!

skiing (cross country) I don’t have equipment, I am not fit enough.

Aerobics in the living room with a video. My husband, or son, or daughter are in there and I don’t want to disturb them. I’m getting bored with the same old, same old. My ankle hurts.

Body weight exercises– I am a wimp! And, see “other people live here, too” excuse, above.

Yoga–I want to be stronger and more fit before I start up again. It hurt so much. And it is expensive.

“Deeper” reasons/thoughts which keep me stuck:

I am a wuss. I don’t like pain. I don’t like exerting effort.

Nobody cares. This is a good thing, really. It means my family loves me just as I am and respects my autonomy. But it also means there’s nobody’s love or pride to earn (and as a child of divorce, that motivates me) except my  own…and that doesn’t count. (This is also one of the reasons I think coaching will be helpful to me as I will want to “please the coach.” Wanting to please the teacher got me a long, long way through school!)

My job is so physically demanding it wipes me right out. Ironically, this could be re-written as a reason to get into shape, like so: My job is so physically demanding I need to be physically fit to cope with it.

I can go like gangbusters for a while: and then the bottom falls out. I get bored, I lose touch with the pain and discomfort that motivated me and I begin to slack off. First the exercise goes–and then that “eat like a horse” switch flips and in no time I am eating out of control and gaining weight rapidly. I actually want to go through this phase–or get to the cusp of the switch flipping so I can work through this terrifying force of nature with my coach.

I am scared of change, generally. I am scared of this change specifically because I don’t know what is going to happen with my relationships with my family and my husband.

I am impatient, as any reader of any of my blogs knows. I lack resilience. I give up when the going gets tough–or even slows down! I need constant feedback things are going in the right direction.

I use food to handle my emotions. In fact, right now, there’s a tremendous urge to get up and make a pan of brownies and just eat them all by myself. Right now.

I can’t figure out when to exercise. I live with other people. The best time  –for them– is in the morning, I suppose. The best time –for work– is before I go. (It is 100% guaranteed I’m always too tired afterwards, even when it is just a short shift.) The best time –for me–is–and always has been– about 3 to 4 pm. Just before supper. I have lots of energy–and lot of adrenaline built up from the day I just love to work off.

So, in short, I have a few challenges in picking out what activities to do, I am unsure how to make exercise a habit, I have some mental health issues, inadequate skills for coping with uncomfortable emotions, lack of support and a demanding job.

But. as the nerd fitness article made clear, those are all issues someone has faced…and overcome.

 

